Day Six

Day six was by far the most emotional day at WJMC.

It all started with our final and most emotional color group meeting. The red group’s faculty advisor, Brian, (who was hands down the best faculty advisor) handed out our certificates and asked us to talk about what we loved about WJMC and our time there and it was so sad. We all learned a lot about journalism but I think we all took away more from the people we met there. My group was so welcoming and loving and I have never met people who are more accepting and smart. My group exceeded my expectations and I couldn’t have asked for better people to share my week with. I know I have lifelong friends from that group. #webleedred

The closing ceremony was incredible. Instead of describing it, I’m just going to include the video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asY3B_SZtjM

When people started to leave it was so heartbreaking. You make all these connections to people and basically live with them for a week and then you leave knowing you’re all across the country. I feel so blessed to have met the people I did. The Washington Journalism and Media Conference really introduced me to some of the best people and some of my best friends.

IMG_5068

IMG_5075

IMG_5080

IMG_5081

IMG_5088

Leave a comment